It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR June 24, 2019

This meme is hosted by Kathryn over at The Book Date. This is where we discuss what we have read over the past week as well as what we are planning to read in the coming week.

This post got up a bit late today. Time got away from me again. Here are the books I have recently read with a short review for each and what I am currently reading and what I plan to pick up next.

 

What I read this week: 

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Format: Ebook
Source: Scribd

Book Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I thought this book was a great and fascinating read. I loved the newspaper articles sprinkled throughout and the clothes and the era. This book really helped me out of a reading slump.

Sing, Unburied, Sing

Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
Audiobook
Source: Scribd
Book Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Narrator: Kelvin Harrison, Chris Chalk, and Rutina Wesley
Narrator Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I got a lot more than I anticipated with this book. It was raw and emotional which I was expecting, but I did not expect the world of magical realism that I found exciting and ____. I fell in love with Jojo, Pop, and Mam. I even loved Leonie as difficult to love as she was.

This book is narrated by Rutina Wesley from True Blood and how I have missed her! She was dynamite as the voice of Leonie.

Fantastic book.

 

What I am currently reading:

Mandy’s bookshelf: Currently Reading

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
tagged:
currently-reading and i-own
Shadow and Bone
tagged:
library, series, currently-reading, fantasy, young-adult, and scribd
Remember Me?
tagged:
currently-reading, chick-lit, contemporary, and romance
The Poppy War
tagged:
currently-reading, fantasy, historical-fiction, adult, and scribd
Frost Like Night
tagged:
2019-reading-list, scribd, and currently-reading


goodreads.com 

I requested these books from the library:

The Invention of Wings

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

Godsgrave (The Nevernight Chronicle, #2)
What are you planning to read this week?

_
Share book reviews and ratings with Mandy, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

 

Leave a comment